Historical sights in Strasbourg, the capital of the Alsace region in France. The city is located on the banks of the river Ill, where it flows into the Rhine. In just 75 years (between 1870 and 1945), the city changed its nationality 4 times – French or German. Petite France – the most picturesque district of old Strasbourg, The name La Petite France was given by the old German residents, but not because of any architectural features, but because of the prostitution in this place, which, according to them, was “French work”.
Later, the soldiers of Francois I were treated for the “French evil” – syphilis, in the neighborhood hospital. Tanners, millers and fishermen once lived there. Most of the houses were built in the 16th and 17th centuries. Les Ponts Couverts – The Covered Bridges. They were once part of the defense structures and were also used as prisons. They were also intended to control free access to the city. This allowed Strasbourg to establish its own customs, which also led to its prosperity. They were built from 1230 to 1250 on the arms of the Ill River.
Despite the fact that the bridges no longer have a roof, they were removed in 1784, their old name “covered” remains. The covered bridges, which represent a former fortress complex from the 13th century. At that time, the wooden bridges were covered with a wooden structure and equipped with harrows. Covered bridges allowed access to the city from the river Ill to be controlled. These brick towers were among the 90 that defended the city. Today only 4 are preserved.
The Tanners’ House /La Maison des Tanneurs – Built in 1572, It is located next to one of the canals of the river. The availability of water has always been a valuable asset to the economic life of the town, particularly for the fishermen, tanners and millers who lived in the Little France neighborhood The original two-story building had vented ceilings where hides were dried under the roof This imposing Alsatian house is a typical example of the popular architectural style very common in Alsace, called half-timbered /in German/ and colombage /in French/ After the Second World War, the house functioned as a restaurant and had several residential apartments. Saint-Thomas Church/Église Saint-Thomas Built between the 13th and 14th centuries on the site of a former Romanesque church.
It has been functioning as a Protestant church since 1529. The church is internationally known for its historically and musically significant organs. Place de la Cathédrale Cathedral Square The Cathedral Square with the several iconic houses located here. The Old Pharmacy building with the column from 1567. Until 2000, it was the oldest operating pharmacy in France. Documents from 1268 testify to its existence. The column is set back slightly from the rest of the building and this gap is known as the “büchmesser” (belly gauge).
According to an old tradition, artisan masons working on the construction site of the cathedral had to measure their fullness there to show that they could fit through the various gaps in the cathedral. Maison Kammerzell /Kammerzell House, built in 1571 by a prominent Alsatian cheese merchant, in Renaissance style. The beautiful house owes its current name to the Würzburg grocer Philippe-Francois Kamerzel, who bought it.
The ground floor is of stone, and the upper floors have wood carvings and windows with glass in the shape of a bottle bottom. The sculptures on the beams represent sacred and secular scenes. The pulley that was used to raise the reserves to the ceiling is still visible on the gear. “Kammertzel House” is the oldest inhabited building in the city and today it has been converted into an elegant restaurant. Each of the 75 windows is decorated with exquisite carvings with sculptural images of biblical characters, zodiac symbols.
Here you can see wonderful mythological creatures and amazing allegorical stories. The Palais Rohan Roan Palace. It is a major architectural, historical and cultural landmark in the city. It was built in 1730 and is considered a masterpiece of French Baroque architecture. Since the end of the 19th century, the palace has housed several of the most important museums in Strasbourg: the Archaeological Museum, the Museum of Decorative Arts, the Museum of Fine Arts and the Municipal Art Gallery.
From the walk along the river Ill, a tributary of the Rhine The walk lasts 1 hour and 15 minutes, it takes you through the past and present of the city. The price is 14.50 euros, it is definitely worth it. The conversation is in 12 languages and is quite comprehensive, and if my mind was fresher I could tell you more. The Church of St. Pavel/St. Paul’s Church Église Saint-Paul de Strasbourg Built between 1892 and 1897. One of the most impressive features of the church is the unusually large number of portals and entrances giving access to it, a total of 19. For comparison, the Strasbourg Cathedral has 7.
The church is Protestant. The ship passes through the first bridge – Pont du Corbeau (Bridge of Ravens), which definitely has an eerie history. In the 12th century, the bridge was known by the terrifying name: Schindbrücke (Bridge of Torture). It was in this part of the city that public executions of thieves and murderers took place, and the condemned were thrown into the Ill River in tied sacks. Quai des bateliers/ Boatmen’s quay It owes its name to the boatmen who settled there in the past Along its entire length there are many beautiful houses dating from the 16th – 18th centuries.
The boatmen’s quay is like a small green haven in the center of the city and where you can walk in a cool and calm atmosphere along the river. Barrage Vauban /Vauban Barrage, named after a famous military architect, according to whose plans it was built in the 17th century. The facility, which is a covered bridge, served to strengthen the defense system of the city. The weir openings could be sealed to cause flooding and block the advance of enemy troops, and weirs also blocked the passage of boats. This purpose has long been a thing of the past, today the place has been turned into a museum. The roof has been converted into a panoramic terrace with wonderful views.
Aubette /The building located on the Place Kléber was built between 1765-1772 to be part of the military command of the city and the troops. Officers came at dawn to receive their instructions, hence the name – dawn, dawn in French is “ob”. According to others, the name probably corresponds to one of the old meanings of the word aubette (shelter). It is now a museum. The statue of Johannes Gutenberg, holding in his hands a parchment on which is written: “And there was light”. Gutenberg invented the printing press and is the founder of modern printing.
In a certain period of his life he lived and worked in Stasburg. In 1455, he published his “42-line Bible”, also known as the Gutenberg Bible. The high quality and great historical value of the Gutenberg Bible makes it one of the most valuable printed books in history. A page of the Bible costs about 80 thousand dollars. Place du Marché aux Cochons de Lait \ Ferikelmärik. This is an old market, established in the 13th century. Today, souvenirs are sold here.
“Maison au cochon de lait” This house was built in 1477 and remodeled in 1612. It is topped by an interesting weathervane depicting the Emperor Sigismund’s clog. The little spicy and comical story is that when he visited Strasbourg in 1414, the Holy Roman Emperor was in such a hurry to go to a ball that he ran barefoot and forgot his boots. The kind servants of Strasburg, witnessing the incident, hastened to provide the emperor with shoes, and bought them from this very place.